Has Peak Oil Hit the Mainstream?

Could this be the first time the Peak Oil discussion has occurred on mainstream media?

Maybe I am being sensitive, but lots of things do seem to be going wrong lately…. slowly, and then all at once.

Let’s take stock: we are on the brink of the Second Great Depression, there is sovereign debt chaos in Europe and considerable social unrest in Greece; on top of all that, it turns out that honeybees are dying in the United States, the volcano in Iceland has started spewing ash again and there is a hole in the bottom of the ocean in the Gulf of Mexico spewing 5000 barrels of oil per day, dooming the local economies that rely on a reasonably healthy coastline for their livelihood.

Is this an epic run of bad luck or am I just being sensitive? If you were to put this stuff in a movie the audience would complain that the plot is wildly implausible.

<Read more at GoldSubject.com>

10 comments

  1. I don’t know what the future may hold, but the right now is making me amp up our Be Prepared Plans. I have been putting it off, busy with other things, but it’s time for me to work out our some serious plans… and start acquiring things & skills we need!

    Yes, I still want to work on solutions (for post peak oil transition, climate change issues, food, water & mineral shortages, better resource management etc.) and social change, build community groups, encourage neighbours and family, campaign the government to get their act together, and try to help people around the world who are already suffering (for whatever reason)… BUT lately I’ve been feeling more & more urgency to be ready to protect and provide for my family. Maybe it is the vibe going around, hopefully there won’t be any need for the plans I want to set in place, but I am going to feel better once I have plans, and provisions!

    So, you guys moving back to Australia soon??

  2. I’m with dixiebell on this one Mia, when are you coming back to Australia?

    I don’t think that we can count on things going bad in a controlled fashion, so being settled in a place you are happy and able to live in long term without the support of the rest of society gives you protection in case things do go bad in a rush. Seems like the best plan to me personally.

    That said, I think that the stuff going on at the moment is just highly visible. The Deepwater Horizon blowout was inevitable (and a repeat of the blowout in the Timor Sea last year). The Greece thing has been predicted for years by at least one person on Sydney Peak Oil. The honey bee colony collapse disorder is just getting worse (tellingly Sam tells me that organic apiarists are not seeing it at all).

    All in all, while it’s alarming, I don’t think these things are big enough to represent a real trigger for collapse. But it is coming.

  3. I’m not sure about collapse. But when things get bad, the nasty grab-power-at-any-cost fascist dictatorships go to town. So expect political upheaval all over, and more loss of human rights. Not good.

    You want to be in a safe place with low population to food ratios, and stable socio-economic factors. I wouldn’t suggest Australia, unless you’re talking outback Tassie, or similar. But New Zealand is friendly 🙂

  4. We are coming back to Australia at the end of the year. Things are starting to get busy now in preparation. As soon as I get a spare moment I’ll write a post and let you all know what I’m up to.

  5. Bugger. I keep forgetting to put my details in and then I lose my comment and by then I’ve forgotten what I’ve said. Not always a bad thing.

    I don’t think Peak Oil has become mainstream, you just have to ask the average person to find that one out. A good indicator is the slightly glazed look you get.

    Logic would dictate that the current events are nothing more than coincidences but given the number of coincidences, logic would dictate that we sit up and take notice and action. Yes I’m a Star Trek fan.

    The riots in Greece are giving us a good idea of what it’s going to be like if everything does go pear shaped and it’s not going to be pretty.

    And Leanne. Funny thing, last night my Husband mentioned moving to NZ, it might not be a bad idea.

  6. It’s funny, I woke up this morning to a new bunch of bad news (public acknowledgement of the huge UK national debt, industry talk about electricity shortages in the UK, more about the expected effects of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill etc) and wondered if I hadn’t jumped the gun with my comment yesterday.

    Having thought about it more though, I am calming down. However, it is quite clear now that the economic dominoes are beginning to fall and that is very bad news for everyone.

    As for where to be (Australia, NZ etc). It raises an interesting issue. Clearly not everyone can live in New Zealand (as lovely and hopefully stable as it might be). Personally, I have no hope of moving to Tasmania, or NZ, just like the vast majority. Therefore, it’s time to start thinking about how to make the most of where you actually are.

    I think that it is possible to survive almost anywhere (as some people certainly will). But you need a plan and you need to have prepared in advance and be ready (physically and mentally) .

  7. And then the US stock market collapsed nearly 1000 points today. Of course they are saying it was an ‘erroneous’ trade. Maybe it was, but I’m hesitant about believing that an accident was responsible for the largest intra-day drop in the history of US stock markets. We are talking about tens of billions of dollars in capital flows here.

    I don’t know how people are feeling in Australia and New Zealand, but discussions over here in the US have taken a decidedly gloomy turn lately. Even in a business meeting today people were talking about the woeful state of unemployment, State budgets and the likelihood of gas (petrol) prices going through the roof soon. I’ve been talking to these people every few months for the last few years and this was the first conversation of this kind we’ve had. Interesting times indeed.

  8. Whenever I feel that collapse is imminent (i.e. most days, after reading the news headlines), I “reassure” myself by logging on to Facebook, where business is continuing very much as usual.

    All of my “real life” friends are still happily propping up the economy with their new air conditioners, 4WDs, McMansions, electronic gadgetry, overseas holidays, third or fourth babies … the list goes on. (With Mother’s Day coming up this weekend, there’s been an even bigger than usual consumeristic orgy happening this week).

    No one I’m personally acquainted with is nervous yet.

  9. Oh, yes, I had forgotten about the Dow going down the toilet. That didn’t make me feel any better either.

    The people that I talk to and deal with are all blissfully ignorant and happy to stay that way. After all, we’re the lucky country right? And China likes our gas/iron ore/wood chips etc, so it doesn’t mater what else happens in the world, we will be fine right? Coz China likes our stuff. Right? Right …

    It never ceases to amaze me that people think that our economy isn’t intimately linked with that of the US and the rest of the world.

  10. We’ve talked about NZ before too… or Tassie, or Mullumbimby/ Bangalow area, or even the Blue Mountains would be a great place! But this is where we are now and it has it’s own advantages, so we are continuing to set up as best as we can for being here. I worked out it’s been 18 months that I’ve been talking about it, but we are now seriously prepping, because once the ostriches take their heads out of the sand, panic buying and inappropriate stockpiling will be very annoying as I am trying to get the equipment we need! Mia, I hope you don’t mind, I am often linking to your blog at the Aussies Living Simply forum, and will do so when I get to blog about our Preparedness Plans later tonight…

Leave a Reply

