Where in the World? Pyramids of Giza, Egypt

This week’s ‘Where in the World?’ features the middle east. The Pyramids of Giza had long been on my ‘must see’ list and I finally got to visit in 2005.

If you are anything like me, you probably imagine the pyramids to be quite isolated, rising like mirages from a sandy desert. The truth is much less romantic. They are literally in the middle of the suburban sprawl of Cairo. You can eat your lunch at Pizza Hut while enjoying the view. Dissapointing I know.

Nonetheless, if you have a good enough imagination, you can block out the tourists and the dirty skyline and imagine you are in Ancient Egypt, when these pyramids were first built.

It helps the imagination to have some camels around. It doesn’t help when the camel rider constantly bugs you for baksheesh. Baksheesh can be described as “lavish remuneration and bribes, rudely demanded but ever so graciously accepted by the natives in return for little or no services rendered.” Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Regardless, my visit to the Great Pyramids is one of the highlights of my life. I’d been fascinated with Ancienct Egypt since I was a kid and finally getting to see these massive symbols of this fascinating ancient culture was a dream come true. If only our modern culture weren’t so ugly as to ruin the experience.

5 comments

  1. Nice photos Mia. I have never been to Egypt (and doubt that I ever will), so it is great to have images and commentary like yours instead.

  2. Great photos. Am visiting there in October and am so looking forward to it but I definitely won’t be visiting the Pizza Hut!

  3. Hi Mia,

    Your photos of Egypt are amazing. Egypt has always intrigued me and is one of the places I would love to visit.

    Cheers,
    BJ

    1. Dixiebelle – Siwa was fantastic. One of my favourite places on my trip to Egypt. I guess those photos will make it on here eventually.

Leave a Reply

