Where in the World? Engelberg, Switzerland

In May of 2009, Brendan and I spent eight days in Switzerland. I had a couple of days work on, but after that we spent some quality days visiting little villages and hiking in the mountains. Honestly, this is one of the most beautiful countries I’ve ever been to. I’d live there in a heartbeat!

All photos taken by me. Please do not copy without permission.

Click photos to embiggen.

Although I had the beginnings of a horrible cold, this day remains one of my favourite ever. We awoke in the morning to this view from our hotel balcony.

We decided to catch the gondola to the top of one of the surrounding mountains and hike down. Usually we would have chosen to hike up, but I wasn’t feeling 100% and those Swiss mountains are steep! We caught an enclosed gondola halfway up the mountain and then a chairlift the rest of the way. By the time we reached the top we were in dense fog/cloud and once the lone base jumper had launched, we had the entire mountain to ourselves.

We located a trail which would take us back to the village and we started on down. All hiking trails in Switzerland are really well marked; it must be virtually impossible to get lost. Even if there isn’t a sign, you just have to keep a lookout for the painted markings as seen in the photo below with Brendan. They can be on rocks, houses, fences or even trees.Eventually we had descended enough to come out below the clouds and were rewarded with this view.

If I ever have any trouble relaxing or sleeping at night, the photo below is the happy place where I take myself. It is the most perfect place I’ve ever been to. Some people love the beach, some love the desert. Brendan and I love mountains and green fields. These mountains were full of spring flowers and softly lowing cows with jingling bells. Have I mentioned how much I love cows?

We stopped here to eat our packed lunch and have a little sleep in the warm sun before hiking the rest of the way down into the valley.

The fields throughout the Swiss Alps were full of animals enjoying the spring weather. Each animal has its own bell, sized to suit. Sheep have small bells which tinkle like wind chimes. Cows have larger bells which clang as they move about. The combination makes for a beautiful symphony.

After looking back through these photos I’ve become inspired to take some more active vacations. Forget rushing around, spending long days travelling and packing on the pounds from too much food. I want to travel slow. I’ve already mentioned potentially hiking a portion of the Appalachian Trail later this year, but now I’m also thinking of hiking the Amalfi Coast in Italy for a week or so next Christmas. It looks fantastic!

Check out more photos from my travels

5 comments

  1. Nice photos once again. I love the donkey especially. Looks like a great trip, thanks for sharing.

    I have done some travelling over the years but these days I am happy to let others do it and then to enjoy the tale and the images.

    I think that it is a wonderful contribution to the world and my life that people will go travelling, then share the amazing sights, sounds and adventures with everyone else.

  2. Thanks everyone. Yes, I’m very lucky to have visited some wonderful places in my lifetime. For me, travelling is the best way to learn about our world.

Leave a Reply

