Wishing I had some Cayenne Pepper right now

I have a shocking headache and I wish I had some cayenne pepper on hand.

I swore off pharmaceuticals last year for a variety of reasons. I wanted to reduce the amount of toxins I was putting into my body and therefore making their way into the water supply. I didn’t want to support the pharmaceutical industry either, because I think drugs have become far too pervasive in our society. For these reasons, I now try to find a natural alternative when before I would have popped some type of pill. Today I have politely declined all offers of headache tablets and I’ll wait till I get home to make myself a cup of Cayenne Tea.

“In 35 years of practice, and working with the people and teaching, I have never on house calls lost one heart attack patient and the reason is, whenever I go in–if they are still breathing–I pour down them a cup of cayenne tea (a teaspoon of cayenne in a cup of hot water, and within minutes they are up and around).” ~Dr. Christopher

Cayenne pepper tea is our elixir of choice when it comes to pain relief. Whether we have a sore throat or a pounding headache, Cayenne pepper does the trick.

For centuries Cayenne pepper has been used medicinally to treat pain, inflammation, headaches, the circulatory system, digestive tract disorders, sore throat, and to boost immunity. It has been referred to as the most useful and valuable herb in the herb kingdom by many herbalists.

Capsaicin, the active ingredient in cayenne brings relief by depleting Substance P, a neurotransmitter that helps transmit pain impulses. Cayenne works in seconds and gets the blood moving faster than any herb known. The fact that it is such a great blood circulation stimulant makes it beneficial for many ailments.

How lucky we are to have six Cayenne pepper bushes in our garden. They supply more than enough peppers for all our cooking (cayenne goes in most meals in our house) and medicinal needs. Soon we will grind up our hundreds of dried peppers into flakes and give them away to friends.

Update:

My Cayenne Tea recipe

  • 1/8 teaspoon Cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon Ginger
  • 3 teaspoon Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • Lemon if desired
  • 1 cup hot water

Photo by: Chiots Run

3 comments

  1. Hi Mia. I just wanted to start by saying I just came across your blog today and really enjoyed browsing through. I believe in a lot of the same topics and was glad to read about your ideas. As for the headache- I’m sorry to hear. When cayenne pepper is not on hand- try some lemon tea with grated ginger. Or even lemon tea with tabasco. I hope you feel better. -Sup

  2. Thanks for the tip goodkarma. Unfortunately I had no lemon tea or ginger at work either! I think I’ll take a little container of Cayenne Pepper in so I’ll haev it on hand if I ever need it again.

Leave a Reply

