I feel myself losing hope

I’ve almost finished my first week back at work and the energy and enthusiasm I had coming back from vacation is gone. I’m feeling really down on the world right now and have very little hope for humans. Here are a few contributing factors:

  • On each of the last three days, I’ve nearly been knocked off my bicycle by people who are either not paying attention or are too arrogant to consider my safety. After three days of it, it got too much for me and today I drove the car into work. Although it’s probably just some bad luck (I’ve never had this many close calls on the bike) I feel like something has shifted within people over the last few months.  I feel like this simple inattention to road safety is symbolic of what’s going on in greater society…. almost like people are drawing into themselves, or watching out for themselves at the expense of others. This is coming at a time when we should be banding together as a human community and that makes me despair for the future.
  • On our morning walks this week, a large percentage of people simply ignore us when we say good morning. Not that they didn’t hear us….they simply refused to acknowledge that we had spoken to them. This has always happened to some extent, but it seems to be more pronounced this week. How hard is it to simply exchange a pleasantry with a fellow human being?
  • Yesterday I overheard a conversation regarding the wasting of resources. I was within earshot and the people involved knew how I feel about the wasting of resources (mainly water, oil and electricity). This person was so arrogant about their right to use as much as they like and exclaimed loudly that they didn’t care if they had to pay more for it, but there was no way they were going to use less. Southern California is in drought and is running out of water and this persons solution was desalination plants. Never mind turning off the tap or allowing your lawn to become slightly less luxurious…the answer is to build extremely expensive desalination plants during a global recession (California is insolvent by the way) and run it with increasingly expensive energy. Oh boy! I could live with people who are clueless about our limited resources; education can solve that. But that fact that some people are aware of the issues and still arrogantly believe they are entitled to more than their share…now that does my head in.

Although I’m feeling a bit down on things at the moment, a couple of blog posts this morning brought a smile to my face.

These are simple things. Things I can control. This weekend I’m going get dirty in the garden, finish off some crochet projects and work on my self-sufficiency plans. I suspect that there is nothing like a good dose of personal action to make me feel more empowered and hopeful.

Photo by: h.koppdelaney

9 comments

  1. In the journey towards sustainability it is easy to become discouraged, at least it was for me, and observation tells me it is similar for others.

    I long ago decided it was the “power of One”. I will tend my home, my gardens, my community and raise my voice wherever it will be heard at every opportunity. Sooner or later because of our examples, the tide changes, it will happen, I just dont happen to like the time frame much lol!

  2. It’s inevitable that this is going to happen to you periodically. You are isolated in many ways hence this virtual electronic voice that you’ve created to try and do something human — connect.

    You’re totally kicking ass, so keep going.

  3. This is going to sond awful – but when I feel like this I try and make myself feel better by thinking about how much of a challenge life may be for them in the future. .Your unfriendly walkers may one day find themselves in a situation where they need the support of community and they will find nobody there……that resource wasting person will one day no longer be able to afford his lifestyle and will struggle to maintain his lifestyle…..and maybe one day those aggresive car drivers will have one less lane to drive in because a whole lane has been given to cyclists??

    I’m not really a mean person (although I admit the above comment makes me sound like one)….i just think that for some people it will take a big wake-up call to force change…and we do need change.

    I hope you are full of hope again sooner rather than later. 🙂

  4. “Action is the antidote to despair” – I think it was Joan Baez who said that, but whoever it was, they were so right. You’re right to combat this feeling by throwing yourself into some new projects.

    And people who are happy about being wasteful are just stupid. After we’re toilet-trained, we don’t brag about our waste as if it’s something to be proud of!

  5. Hey Mia,

    This is Will out in Seattle. My buddy at FreedomGuerrilla.com turned me on to your site. I read your most recent post, and I want to say that we ARE together, so don’t despair for the future. I don’t even know you, but I’m out here and I hear what you’re saying. You’re right about some people being rude. I’m a bartender. Some people come in and I say, “Hi, how are you today?,” and they say “Bud Lite.” That always pisses me off. So I give them their beer and say, “Thanks, I’m good too,” just to make the point. No, life is not so short that there isn’t time for common courtesy. Please keep smiling. You have friends you don’t even know. Peace.

  6. i’m no stranger to these ‘losing faith in humanity’ sort of days, though i’ve never really blogged about it.
    kudos to you for being brave enough to share your feelings.

  7. I have recently had a rant and rave about similiar sort of thing, and yes, as others mentioned, go through it every now and then too. That’s why it’s good to read blogs like yours and know there is a community of like-minded people out there, even if they are not the ‘real’ people you get to interact with on a daily basis. It was also good for me to get out into my garden, see nature at work, and make peace within myself that I am headed in the right direction…

  8. Hi-

    I wanted to say that I love your blog, it is very well thought out and articulate. I also wanted to comment specifically on the sad case of folks walking by eachother with not even a nono second of eye contact. This truly is sad. Sometimes folks at the office do this. Not sure why, I’ve thought that maybe they are depressed.

    I always make it a point especially at the office to say Hi! cheerfully, especially tot he depressed ones.. You know what I always think when this happens? I just think – poor people, they must be suffering, even dogs acknowledge one another passing by. I do not want to think that our species has sunk below canines.

    take care
    m

Leave a Reply

