Economy #3: How the Credit Crisis Happened

3334835682_d2522ac784

This is the third post in my World-Changing Wednesday series. Tune is each Wednesday to read my thoughts on an issue which I think will have a huge impact on how we live our lives in the years to come.

Unfortunately I am away for work this week and haven’t had the time to put together a full post. However, I did come across this excellent visual presentation on how the credit crisis happened.

The Crisis of Credit Visualized from Jonathan Jarvis.

This presentation will explain, with easy to understand visuals, the complex relationships between sub-prime mortgages, collateralized debt obligations (CDO), frozen credit markets and credit default swaps. It also provides some historic context into what caused the crisis, starting from the dot-com bubble and subsequent lowering of interest rates by the US Federal Reserve. This is the easiest, most clear explanation of the causes of the financial crisis that I could find. I hope you get as much out of it as I did. I should be back next week to talk about another big issue which consumes much of my thoughts these days.

Read other articles in the World Changing Wednesdays series

Economy #1: How money is created

Economy #2: Is a housing bubble looming in Australia?

Energy#1: What is Peak Oil?

One comment

Leave a Reply

