Independence Days – Off to Australia

3697553554_901a1f0477Photo by: G a r r y

Hooray! I’m leaving for Australia this week. I’ve been looking forward to the trip so much, and with Brendan already there I’m eager to hurry up and get there. Of course, before that happens, there seems to be a million and one things to do around here. Thankfully it’s the Labor Day long weekend here so I’ve had an extra day off work to get organised. Here’s my Independence Days update:

Planted: I couldn’t help myself. I went and ordered more seeds. This time I tried Freedom Seeds which is run by the Dervaes family in Pasadena, CA. They have the most inspiring Urban Homestead and I wanted to give my business to them rather than some faceless seed grower. A couple of days ago I sowed the Snow Pea and Collard seeds. After only a couple of days they are already up. I’ve certainly improved my seed starting techniques in the last 6 months.

Harvested: Bell Peppers (Capsicum), Broccoli, Squash, Jalapenos, Cayenne Pepper, Tomatoes and Basil.

Preserved: I decided to try freezing tomatoes. I simply blanched them in hot water, removed their skins and packed them into serving-sized freezer bags. With my limited time it was the quickest way I could think of for dealing with my tomato glut. More Jalapenos were hung up to dry. More batches of Pesto were made from the Basil. Today I’m going to roast some Bell Peppers and freeze them.

Reduce Waste: I’m still adding to compost. We’ll be needing that for the fall garden which we’ll start planting when we return from Australia in October.

Work on Community Food Systems: While I’m away in Australia I have a couple of friends who’ll be coming around to harvest from the garden and make sure all our hard work doesn’t go to waste with food rotting on the ground and bolting broccoli. I hope they enjoy our garden as much as we do.

Cook Something New: With Brendan away I’ve been doing all the cooking. I’m not the cook that he is, so my meals have been mostly stir fries, omelets and fried rice to eat up as many of the veges I can before I leave. Aside from some fruit from the Farmer’s Market, I’ve only had to go shopping once for bread and milk. It’s fun trying to make do with the food I have in the house and what I get from the garden.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

