Crabapples Galore

Crabapple tree as fruit started setting
It’s that time of the year. The time when our Crabapple tree is starting to drop little bitty apples all over the place. We know from our experience last year that if we don’t do something about them, we’ll soon have a mound of rotting mini apples to deal with.

2.7kg (6 pounds) of crab apples

Unfortunately they are a little too tart to eat straight off the tree, but we discovered that when cooked up they are delicious and sweet. Brendan has made a couple of apple crumbles, but there are far too many of them to limit ourselves to just the occasional dessert. If we were going to minimise wastage from this very productive little tree, I was going to have to learn how to preserve them.

Yesterday morning I collected 6 pounds (2.7kg) of apples and throughout the day I tried a number of different preserving techniques. To be honest, removing 6 pounds of apples from the tree has barely made a dent. There are going to be a few more days like this!

Here’s what I’ve tried so far (from left to right):

  • Applesauce.
  • Crabapple Jelly (not sure it’s a success yet. Might be Crabapple syrup!)
  • Apples ready to be blanched and frozen
  • Crabapple relish
  • Crabapple liqueur in progress (Not shown)

Phew! I’m sure I’m going to be all Crabapple’d out within a few weeks. By then I’ll probably be doing the same with tomatoes and squash!

Preserving crab apples
One comment

  1. Well you guys continue to inspire! I stumbled across a whole basket full of kumquats at work the other day, that someone had brought in from home to give away. So I thought I’d attempt my first jam…..and it worked! Well truthfully I unfortunately burnt it a little but managed to salvage it. And the preserving jars mum gave me worked a gem! Dad is the expert marmalade taste tester, and the other night he tried some and thought it was pretty good. I found it quite nice too, so I might add a kumquat tree to my garden and work on perfecting that recipe.
    Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

