Living on rations for the day

world_hunger_54195

My friend George recently had an epiphany about food.

This past Sunday Frederic and I were having lunch at Boston Market. I was having this new country fried steak with cream sauce. After the first bite I realized that the cream wasn’t very creamy at all! It was runny and bland, something more suitable for a hospital cafeteria than a Boston Market. As I scarf down the first bite, I quickly take my fork and prepare a second bite this time with a healthy dose of salt for good measure. Still bland but now salty! I put my fork down and get ready for my usual “this f&*king sucks” tirade when out of the clear blue it hits me: “We are very lucky to have this.” For those who know me, yes I was just as shocked as you are reading this!

“What?” Frederic replied, most likely wondering if this was the beginning of one of my jokes.

“We are lucky to have this.” I repeated.

“What makes you say that?” he said.

“I don’t know. It just hit me. We ARE lucky to be sitting here eating this meal. How many people in the world are starving or wish they could have what I am eating now?” I said, still processing in my mind what was going on. Wondering where this sudden wave of concern and guilt was coming from.

God bless me, but if it doesn’t happen in my little universe, it doesn’t exist! I’ve lived my whole life worrying about myself and my close friends. Not once has it occurred to me that people around the world might be suffering. Sad to say, I am one of the millions of people who simply turn the other cheek. I suppose giving the occasional handout to a street person or participating in fundraisers gave me a fools confidence that I was doing my part.

George has decided that tomorrow will be the day that he will see what it’s like to live on the rations provided by the United Nations World Food Program. Being the good friend that I am I have decided to lend my support and do the same. Here’s my ration for tomorrow:

  • One and half cups of rice or flour,
  • a tablespoon of beans or lentils,
  • a spoonful of oil, and
  • a pinch of salt.

I’ll be sure to provide an update to see how we both fared.

One comment

Leave a Reply

